Let’s Get Started!

I’m currently on Day 16 of Balanced Bites’ 21-Day Sugar Detox. I heard about this from a FB acquaintance who has been transitioning her family to Paleo eating, and had been posting really wonderful pictures of meals and specifically the lunches she is sending to school with her kids.  For a while I’ve known that I needed to do something to fix my own diet, but other than just going on WW to lose a few pounds, I didn’t have a lot of direction.  The suggestion to start this detox on January 1st seemed like just the kick in the pants I needed!

Other than googling to find out what it was, I really didn’t know anything about paleo/primal diet and lifestyle before I started this detox.  From what I can tell, a lot of people who are extremely fit and active swear by it.  It seems to emphasize a lot of things I already knew to be healthy – whole foods, healthy fats, lots of veggies.  The higher fat/lower carb thing was a bit of a mystery to me, but starving overgrown candida and curbing cravings with a short term sugar detox sounded like a good way to get a headstart on making healthier choices, regardless of the specific “plan” for healthy eating.  So I jumped in with two feet.

I wanted to do this for myself to get me on the right track to lose about 10 pounds and keep it off for good.  My husband also wants to lose weight, and the easiest way for him to do it is for me to drag him along with whatever I am doing.  But most importantly, I’ve allowed my kids’ diets to become not only nutritionally deficient, but downright dangerous.  Something must be done, and it starts with me.

I’m spending a lot of time right now thinking about what is going to happen when these 21 days are over, and how I am going to keep going.  I’ve acquired some excellent resources, which I’ll detail in future posts.  I’m going to use this blog to organize my thoughts, set some goals, and track my progress.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

