Cookie Experiments – A GF Ginger Cookie

IMG_0182[1]
It is slow going, but we are making progress.  The kids are eating up the last of the wheat-based breakfast cereals and are accepting the GF replacements.  I am holding off on more waffle and pancake experiments until I start eating eggs myself.  Want to work on replacing the packaged snacks with homemade ones, so today was cookie experiment day!

The goal was to come up with a nut-free cookie that can be taken to school, gluten-free, uses eggs (to add protein), not too sweet and kid-approved.  I also wanted to try using some coconut flour in order to reduce the amount of grain flour needed.  Also, I want to gradually paleo-fy the treats, so I want to learn more about how to use coconut flour.  I did use refined sugar, but my initial goal here is to replace processed store-bought treats, so I will work on reducing sugar/using other sweeteners down the road.  For now it makes adjusting recipes easier.

Here is what I came up with:

1/2 C  butter
1/2 C  sugar
1/4 C  molasses
2  eggs
1 1/2 tsp  baking powder
2 tsp  ground ginger
1 tsp  cinnamon
1/2 tsp each cloves and allspice
1/3 C  coconut flour
1/2 C  brown rice flour
1/2 C tapioca flour

Creamed butter and sugar, added molasses and eggs.  Mixed remaining dry ingredients together, and added to the wet mixture.  The dough came out quite soft, but I was able to spoon it onto parchment lined sheets fairly easily.  The dough spread nicely in the oven, but I did flatten with a fork slightly part way through cooking – I hope this will help with a chewy center.

Cooked at 350 degrees for about 12 minutes.

Next batch will be a traditional chocolate chip…

One thought on “Cookie Experiments – A GF Ginger Cookie

Leave a Reply

